ElderEats

Food strategies for seniors in home care.

Copyright © Elliot Essman 2014. | All Rights Reserved  |  Style Gourmet Home | e-mail us


The information given here is for informational purposes only and is not intended to act as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, treatment, or nutritional guidance.

Food Restrictions: Salt / Sugar / Fats / Gluten / Dairy / Nuts / Fish / Shellfish / Eggs

Soy / Corn / Sulfites / Yeast / Caffeine / Alcohol / Vegetarian / Kosher / Halal


Medical Conditions: Diabetes / Arthritis / Inflammatory Bowel / IBS / Osteoporosis

Migraine / Kidney / High Blood Pressure / Gout / Asthma /  Conflicts with Medications

HOME

Scope

Concept

The Developer

Elder Nutrition

Cooking Skills

Food Handling

Eating Process

Food Labels


Sponsor these

Elder-Eats pages

site-wide


e-mail us

Food Restrictions, Limitations and Allergies

Gluten Restriction and Wheat Allergy   Previous - Next

Hidden gluten 2.


Conventional Asian soy sauce is made with (gluten-containing) wheat as well as gluten-free soy. Gluten-free soy sauces are available.


Any product with “malt” on its label or as an ingredient is suspect of containing gluten. This includes malt vinegars.


Distilled vinegars are gluten-free, all other vinegars suspect. Note that condiments like mustard and ketchup usually contain vinegar. Read the label.


Dried mustard powder, curry powder, and many pre-ground spices like white pepper often have wheat flour added to prevent caking.


Instant coffee can have added wheat to bulk up the package.


Even ground meats are sometimes bulked up with gluten products.





Parameters Chart

Gluten issues

Uncertain diagnoses

Gluten sources

Gluten-free foods

Hidden gluten 1

Hidden gluten 2

Gluten-free products