Hidden gluten 1.
Much hidden gluten in processed foods derives from wheat starches added to improve consistency.
Avoid unless labeled gluten-free: beer, processed meats, snack foods like potato chips and corn chips (they sometimes have a wheat component), canned soups, dried soups, bouillon cubes, bottled salad dressing, commercial French fries or other processed potato products, sauces, condiments and gravies, meats and vegetables packed in sauces, candies, ice cream and frozen desserts, and, of course, all breads, pastas, pizza, cookies, pastries, cakes, crackers, croutons and other baked goods.
Any canned food of any type is a candidate for added gluten. Read the label.
Nuts are often dusted in flour. Read the label.
Rice, almond and soy milks can contain gluten as an additive. Read the label.