Food strategies for seniors in home care.

Copyright © Elliot Essman 2014. | All Rights Reserved  |  Style Gourmet Home | e-mail us

The information given here is for informational purposes only and is not intended to act as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, treatment, or nutritional guidance.

Food Restrictions: Salt / Sugar / Fats / Gluten / Dairy / Nuts / Fish / Shellfish / Eggs

Soy / Corn / Sulfites / Yeast / Caffeine / Alcohol / Vegetarian / Kosher / Halal

Medical Conditions: Diabetes / Arthritis / Inflammatory Bowel / IBS / Osteoporosis

Migraine / Kidney / High Blood Pressure / Gout / Asthma /  Conflicts with Medications




The Developer

Elder Nutrition

Cooking Skills

Food Handling

Eating Process

Food Labels

Sponsor these

Elder-Eats pages


e-mail us

Food Restrictions, Limitations and Allergies

Gluten Restriction and Wheat Allergy   Previous - Next

Major sources of dietary gluten.

The four grains most directly associated with gluten are wheat, barley, rye and triticale, which is a cross between rye and wheat. Variations, which are often sold with “healthy” labeling, are spelt, kamut, bulgur wheat, semolina, einkorn, faro, graham flour, durum flour or in fact any kind of flour that is not specifically labeled “gluten-free.” Couscous in any form is a wheat product. The Asian product seitan is made from wheat gluten.

Since these grains are used for nearly all ready-to-eat breakfast cereals, breads, crackers, pastas, pizza dough, cookies, cakes, pastries and other baked goods, these products are forbidden unless specifically labeled “gluten-free.”

Oats are themselves gluten-free, but producers often use the same machinery for oats and wheat, leading to cross-contamination concerns. Health brands of oats are now available that guarantee that the oats have been processed in a wheat-free environment.

Parameters Chart

Gluten issues

Uncertain diagnoses

Gluten sources

Gluten-free foods

Hidden gluten 1

Hidden gluten 2

Gluten-free products