ElderEats

Food strategies for seniors in home care.

Copyright © Elliot Essman 2014. | All Rights Reserved  |  Style Gourmet Home | e-mail us


The information given here is for informational purposes only and is not intended to act as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, treatment, or nutritional guidance.

Food Restrictions: Salt / Sugar / Fats / Gluten / Dairy / Nuts / Fish / Shellfish / Eggs

Soy / Corn / Sulfites / Yeast / Caffeine / Alcohol / Vegetarian / Kosher / Halal


Medical Conditions: Diabetes / Arthritis / Inflammatory Bowel / IBS / Osteoporosis

Migraine / Kidney / High Blood Pressure / Gout / Asthma /  Conflicts with Medications

HOME

Scope

Concept

The Developer

Elder Nutrition

Cooking Skills

Food Handling

Eating Process

Food Labels


Sponsor these

Elder-Eats pages

site-wide


e-mail us

Food Restrictions, Limitations and Allergies

Dairy Products   Previous - Next

Labeling pitfalls.


In the United States, no regulatory agency (like the Food and Drug Administration) determines what the phrase “dairy-free” means. It is essential to look at ingredient lists, watching for items like caseinate and whey.


The FDA does regulate the phrase “non-dairy,” which is used for artificial coffee creamers and many other products. Surprisingly, small amounts of caseinate are often allowed under this regulation, making the product off limits for anyone with a milk allergy. Read the label carefully.


Watch out for substitute cheese, notably soy cheese. It often contains casein.


As for milk substitutes, like soy milk, rice milk, and almond milk, most are genuinely dairy free, but of course it pays to read the label and not rely on the phrases non-dairy or dairy-free.


If a product is labeled “vegan” it is supposed to be completely free of all animal products, which includes dairy. It doesn’t hurt to check the ingredient list, however.



Parameters Chart

Dairy problems

Dietary responses

Labeling pitfalls

Hidden dairy